thoughts

How to love yourself while wanting to change your body!

So now that there is the number of calories beside most foods you purchase, people are (of course) blowing up because of this.

I understand, I honestly do. If you’ve struggled with eating disorders, body image, and have beat your body up over not attaining a certain number of calories, I can understand how having the calorie count beside everyday foods can be damaging.

HOWEVER

This is in no way to say that is a generic, damaging thing. That the calorie count will damage everyone. No.

I have made the conscious, mindful decision to become more fit. Since this decision, I have been going to the gym four times a week and encouraging myself to reach a number of calories each day to achieve my personal goals. This is in no way damaging to me, but in fact it has boosted my self-esteem and mental health. The gym is my outlet.

I was okay with my body before, but I did have an urge to be healthier. I was never into sports, and because of this I was never really physically active. I can’t stress enough that physical activity impacts your mental health in AMAZING ways. It literally releases happy chemicals in your brain. So, for that reason, I am all aboard this fitness trend we have been seeing.

Secondly, I like having personal goals for myself. I like feeling as if I have accomplished something. I like feeling, even if it’s over something small, proud of myself. To me, gaining muscle and weight was something that made me feel proud. And strong for that matter. I enjoy pushing myself and challenging myself with working out and lifting weights. I also enjoy seeing the results, even if only I can notice them. This is something that makes me happy.

So, to gain weight and ensure I am reaching my goals, I do have to reach a certain number of calories daily. I simply am just small and due to my fast metabolism and small genetics, I need to eat more than usual to gain more. This is not because I am obsessing over becoming something that I am not, or that I am beating my body up over not being good enough. I am loving my body throughout the whole process. I feed it healthy foods, instead of binge eating on mcdonald’s. I drink protein shakes packed with greens or fruit. I exercise much more than I used to, and you know what? I feel f-ing great.

I do follow fitness models and competitors that schedule their entire life around working out and keeping their toned figure. I, in no way, will push myself to follow their diets and busy gym schedules. I am a student, I have other priorities and goals that I am working towards.

In summary, you can want to change your body while still taking care of yourself. Calorie counting does not automatically equal an eating disorder.

 

Leave a comment